Best Cordless Table Saw for Mechanics: DEWALT Wins
A shop saw lives or dies on rip capacity, stand stability and how fast the fence locks square. Here's how five 10-inch and 8-1/4-inch picks compare on the specs a mechanic actually uses.
The best cordless table saw for mechanics is the DEWALT DWE7491RS, because its 32-1/2 in rip capacity and rolling stand handle the wide stock a shop actually sees. The best cordless table saw for mechanics on a lighter build is the SKIL TS6307-00, which trims the weight to 51.2 lb and folds its legs flat. Most guides compare motor amps. Every 10-inch saw here draws 15 A. Rip capacity, stand type and fence lock are what separate the picks.
Best cordless table saw for mechanics at a glance
| Pick | Rip capacity | Weight | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall DEWALT DWE7491RS |
32-1/2 in | 110 lb | Check Price |
| Best for heavy use SKIL TS6307-00 |
4x4 at 90° claim | 51.2 lb | Check Price |
| Most versatile RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP 8-1/4" |
12 in right of blade | not listed | Check Price |
| Best for families DEWALT DWE7485 |
24.5 in | 54 lb | Check Price |
| Best budget pick Master Mechanic M1T-KZ4-255 |
3-1/8 in cut at 90° | 48.4 lb | Check Price |
A note on the cordless question
The best cordless table saw for mechanics is a category with a footnote, and I want to name it before you spend money. Of the five saws here, one runs on the RYOBI 18V ONE+ battery platform. The other four are 15 A corded jobsite saws designed for a wall outlet or a generator. Amazon's search returns a mixed set for this query, so treat the shortlist as portable jobsite saws, some cordless, most corded. If you truly need a battery-only machine, the RYOBI is the single option here and you should judge it on its own terms. If "cordless" for you means portable enough to move between bays, the corded picks are on the table.
How I cut this list down to five
I started with roughly 40 jobsite and compact table saw listings in the Saws category, then cut anything that failed one of three tests.
- No stated blade size. Any listing without a clear 8-1/4 in or 10 in blade size dropped out. A mechanic sizing a saw needs to know the blade before anything else.
- No stated weight or rip capacity. If neither number is published, the listing is untestable from a specification sheet. Four listings failed this alone.
- No published warranty or model number. One exception: the RYOBI is listed as a recon with a clear model number, which I let stand, and the Master Mechanic entry lacks a published warranty, which I flag inside its section.
What survived was five saws that split cleanly by build: two full-size 10-inch DEWALTs and a SKIL, one 8-1/4 in DEWALT compact, one 18V cordless RYOBI, and one entry-priced Master Mechanic. That mix is what the reader is actually shopping across.
1. DEWALT DWE7491RS — Best overall
The DWE7491RS is the pick because its 32-1/2 in rip capacity and rolling stand carry the widest stock in the set on the most stable base.

Best for: a mechanic ripping full plywood sheets on a rolling stand Skip it if: you need to lift the saw into a truck bed alone
This is the only saw in the set that ships with a rolling stand, and the only one that rips 32-1/2 in to the right of the blade. Both matter in a shop. A mechanic ripping shelving stock or a 4x8 sheet for a workbench top wants that width without a track saw workaround. DEWALT publishes a 3 year limited manufacturer warranty on the DWE7491RS, which is the longest stated coverage in the set. The rack and pinion telescoping fence, DEWALT says, keeps the fence parallel to the blade through adjustments, and the onboard storage holds the blade guard, riving knife, miter gauge, wrenches and push stick between cuts. The obvious trade is bulk. At 110 lb it is more than twice the weight of the SKIL and the Master Mechanic, and it costs the most of any pick here. If your saw lives on the same stand day after day, that is a fair swap. If it rides in and out of a van every morning, it is not.
Pros:
- 32-1/2 in rip capacity, widest in the set
- Rolling stand included in the box
- 3 year limited manufacturer warranty
- Rack and pinion fence system, per DEWALT
- Onboard storage for guard, fence and accessories
Cons:
- 110 lb, heaviest saw in the set
- The most expensive pick here
- Bulky footprint even with the stand folded
2. SKIL TS6307-00 — Best for heavy use
The TS6307-00 is the pick when the saw travels every night, because 51.2 lb on a folding stand is far easier to move than 110 lb on wheels.

Best for: daily jobsite use where the saw travels every night Skip it if: you want the longest rip capacity in the set
The SKIL sits between the full DEWALT and the compact 8-1/4 in machines on almost every axis. It keeps the 10 in blade of a full jobsite saw, drops the weight to 51.2 lb, and sells at a middle position among the five. SKIL claims a 4x4 cutting capacity at 90 degrees and a 2 to 47 degree bevel with two positive stops at 0 and 45 degrees. The rack and pinion fence rails, per SKIL, keep the fence parallel to the blade, and the saw includes a micro-adjustment for parallel alignment between the blade, the rip fence and the miter slot. SKIL publishes a 3 year limited warranty. The trade against the DWE7491RS is rip capacity: the SKIL does not publish a figure in the same 32-inch class, so if you are ripping full sheets the DEWALT is the buy. The trade against the compacts is footprint. If daily loadout is your bottleneck, this is the saw to look at first.
Pros:
- 51.2 lb, less than half the weight of the DWE7491RS
- Folding stand built in
- 3 year limited warranty
- 4x4 cutting capacity at 90 degrees, per SKIL
- Rack and pinion fence rails, per SKIL
Cons:
- No published 30-inch-class rip capacity
- Dimensions listed as 1 x 1 x 1 in on the listing, so footprint is not verifiable from the spec sheet
- Not a cordless machine
3. RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Brushless 8-1/4" Table Saw — Most versatile
The PBLTS01B is the pick for a shop already on the 18V ONE+ battery platform, because it is the only true cordless machine in the set.

Best for: a shop already invested in the 18V ONE+ battery platform Skip it if: you need a full 10-inch blade and a stand in the box
The RYOBI is listed as a recon and, RYOBI says, delivers corded cutting performance from its ONE+ HP brushless motor. The listing claims up to 240 linear feet of rip per charge with two 4.0 Ah HIGH PERFORMANCE batteries, a 12 in rip capacity to the right of the blade, and up to 4,500 RPM. That last figure is close to the 4,800 RPM DEWALT publishes for the DWE7491RS and above the 4,500 RPM Master Mechanic figure, so the motor is not the compromise you might expect on a cordless saw. What you do give up is blade size, warranty and stand. The blade is 8-1/4 in, not 10. The listing does not state a warranty. There is no stand in the description. Batteries are sold separately, which is fine if you already own them and expensive if you do not. Buy this if the ONE+ ecosystem is your platform and true cordless portability is why you are shopping.
Pros:
- Only genuine cordless pick in the set
- Up to 4,500 RPM, per RYOBI
- 12 in rip capacity right of the blade
- Brushless motor, per RYOBI
- 240 linear feet per charge claim on two 4.0 Ah batteries
Cons:
- 8-1/4 in blade, not a full 10 in
- Weight not listed on the product page
- No stand and no warranty stated in the listing
- Recon condition, not new
4. DEWALT DWE7485 — Best for families
The DWE7485 is the pick for a home garage saw, because 54 lb and a 24.5 in rip capacity fit a bench setup without dominating it.

Best for: a home garage where the saw lives on a bench between projects Skip it if: you rip long stock and want a rolling stand included
The DWE7485 is DEWALT's compact 8-1/4 in saw, and it makes a lot of sense for a shared home garage. At 54 lb, one person can lift it onto a workbench and back into a cabinet. DEWALT lists 24.5 in of rip capacity, which the brand says is enough for ripping 4x8 plywood or OSB sheets, and the same rack and pinion telescoping fence rails as the DWE7491RS. The metal roll cage base is a jobsite feature that also survives a garage well: it takes a knock from a bumper or a bike without bending. There is onboard storage for the guard, fence, wrenches and miter gauge, which is the difference between finding your push stick and looking for it. The trade against the DWE7491RS is real and simple: no rolling stand and 8 fewer inches of rip. Against the SKIL, you gain the DEWALT fence system but lose a little more rip.
Pros:
- 54 lb, easy for one person to move
- 24.5 in rip capacity, per DEWALT
- Rack and pinion telescoping fence rails
- Metal roll cage base
- Onboard storage for accessories
Cons:
- No stand included
- No warranty stated on the listing
- Second-most-expensive pick despite the smaller 8-1/4 in blade
5. Master Mechanic M1T-KZ4-255 — Best budget pick
The M1T-KZ4-255 is the pick when a name-brand saw is out of budget, because it is the cheapest 10 in saw with a stand in the set.

Best for: occasional cuts where a name-brand saw is not in the budget Skip it if: you cut hardwood every week and rely on published support
The Master Mechanic is the entry price of the five and, per the listing, ships with a stand and a 10 in blade. The published spec is a 15 A motor running at 4,200 RPM, a maximum cutting capacity of 3-1/8 in at 90 degrees and 2-1/4 in at 45 degrees, and a steel table size of 21-5/8 in by 22-7/16 in. At 48.4 lb it is the lightest saw in the set. The reason it is not higher is that the listing is thinner than any other pick here. There is no stated warranty. There are no rack-and-pinion fence claims. The brand descriptions run to phrases like "high-strength materials" and "professional-grade quality" without figures behind them. For a mechanic making the occasional shelf or fixture, a saw at this position may be all you need. For daily production cutting on hardwood, the DEWALT or SKIL is a better long-term buy.
Pros:
- The cheapest pick in the set
- 10 in blade with stand included
- 48.4 lb, lightest saw here
- Steel table, 21-5/8 in by 22-7/16 in
Cons:
- No published warranty
- Slowest published motor speed at 4,200 RPM
- The slowest seller of the five in this category
- Feature list is largely marketing phrasing rather than specifications
What actually decides a shop table saw?
Most guides lead with amps or RPM. Every 10 in saw in this set draws 15 A. Two of them run at 4,500 RPM or more. That is not what separates them.
What decides the buy is a shorter list.
- Rip capacity to the right of the blade. This sets the widest sheet you can cut without a jig. The set here runs from a 3-1/8 in cut depth on the Master Mechanic through 12 in on the RYOBI, 24.5 in on the DWE7485 and 32-1/2 in on the DWE7491RS.
- Stand type. A rolling stand, a folding stand, or no stand at all. Two of the five include a stand.
- Fence system. DEWALT and SKIL both publish rack and pinion designs. The other two do not describe the fence in the same detail.
- Weight against portability. 48.4 lb, 51.2 lb and 54 lb are one-person lifts. 110 lb is a two-person lift or a rolling stand.
Match the saw to the actual cuts you make most weeks, not to the biggest spec sheet.
Rip capacity: how much do you really need?
Rip capacity is the fence-to-blade distance on the wide side, and it is the specification a mechanic most often gets wrong on the first buy.
Think about the widest cut you make in a normal month.
- Under 12 in: almost anything here works. Trim, fixtures, jigs.
- 12 to 24 in: the RYOBI (12 in), DWE7485 (24.5 in) and larger machines all cover you.
- Over 24 in: you are ripping half-sheets or full sheets. The DWE7491RS at 32-1/2 in is the only pick here that clears that comfortably.
If you never rip a sheet of plywood in half, you are paying for capacity you will not use. If you do it every week, buying under-spec is the mistake that costs you a track saw or a circular saw workaround forever.
How the two DEWALTs compare head to head
The DWE7491RS and the DWE7485 are the two DEWALTs in the set, and they answer different questions.
The DWE7491RS is a full 10 in saw, 110 lb, with a rolling stand, 32-1/2 in of rip capacity, a 3 year limited manufacturer warranty and 4,800 RPM. It is the premium price position here.
The DWE7485 is a compact 8-1/4 in saw, 54 lb, without a stand, with 24.5 in of rip. It is also in the premium price band.
The cutoff between them is simple. If you rip sheets wider than 24 in more than occasionally, the DWE7491RS earns its price. If you do not, the DWE7485 saves 56 lb of lift and a lot of shop floor. Both share DEWALT's rack and pinion telescoping fence rails, so the fence experience is closer between them than the price would suggest.
What the listings do not tell you
Product listings are strong on numbers you can measure and weak on numbers you cannot.
- Dust collection. None of the five listings publishes a dust port size or a CFM rating. If you plan to plumb the saw into shop dust collection, expect to measure the port yourself.
- Blade type included. Assume a general-purpose blade. Fine ripping and clean crosscutting both want dedicated blades you will buy separately.
- Stand height. Only the DWE7491RS clearly ships with a rolling stand and the Master Mechanic ships with a stand of unstated height. Bench height matters more than most buyers expect, so measure your bench before you commit.
- Cordless run time in real use. RYOBI's 240 linear feet per charge is a manufacturer claim tied to two 4.0 Ah batteries. Your stock, blade sharpness and feed rate all move that number.
Assume the listing is the floor of what you know, not the ceiling.
The verdict
The DEWALT DWE7491RS is the best cordless table saw for mechanics in this set, on the understanding that the shortlist is dominated by portable jobsite saws rather than battery-only machines. It carries the widest rip capacity here at 32-1/2 in, ships with a rolling stand, publishes a 3 year limited manufacturer warranty, and pairs a 10 in blade with 4,800 RPM. Two conditions flip the pick. If the saw genuinely has to be cordless because you work away from power, the RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP is the only pick in the set that qualifies, and it makes sense on a shop already invested in the ONE+ battery platform. If the saw travels every night and 110 lb is a non-starter, the SKIL TS6307-00 keeps the 10 in blade, drops the weight to 51.2 lb, and adds a folding stand. The DWE7485 is a strong home garage answer at 54 lb and 24.5 in of rip. The Master Mechanic covers occasional cuts on a budget, with the caveat that the listing is thinner on published specifications than the others.
FAQ
Is a cordless table saw powerful enough for a mechanic?
Cordless table saw motors have closed the gap on corded jobsite saws in this class. The RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP brushless in this shortlist claims up to 4,500 RPM and, per RYOBI, delivers corded cutting performance. Battery capacity is the real question. RYOBI cites 240 linear feet per charge with two 4.0 Ah HIGH PERFORMANCE batteries, and your stock and blade change that number.
What size table saw is best for a shop?
Best size for a shop depends on the widest cut you make. A 10 in blade with a 32-1/2 in rip, like the DEWALT DWE7491RS, handles half-sheet plywood without a workaround. An 8-1/4 in saw with 24.5 in of rip, like the DWE7485, is enough for most fixture and shelving work while saving 56 lb of weight and shop floor space.
DWE7491RS vs SKIL TS6307-00: which is the better buy?
DWE7491RS vs SKIL comes down to weight and stand. The DEWALT is 110 lb, ships with a rolling stand, publishes a 32-1/2 in rip capacity, and carries a 3 year limited manufacturer warranty. The SKIL is 51.2 lb, folds flat on integrated legs, also carries a 3 year limited warranty, and claims a 4x4 cutting capacity at 90 degrees. Rip full sheets, buy DEWALT. Move it daily, buy SKIL.
Is the Master Mechanic table saw worth it?
Master Mechanic table saw is worth considering as a budget entry to a 10 in saw with a stand. The listed specification is a 15 A motor at 4,200 RPM with a 3-1/8 in cut at 90 degrees. The listing does not state a warranty and the feature bullets are largely marketing phrasing rather than measured numbers, so treat it as an occasional-use saw rather than a daily production machine.
What features should I skip when buying a jobsite table saw?
Features to skip on a jobsite table saw are the ones you will not use weekly. Laser guides drift and need recalibrating. Bevel presets past 45 degrees rarely come up in shop work. Oversized rip capacity, above what your actual sheets need, costs money, weight and floor space. Focus on fence quality, stand type and the rip capacity that matches the widest cut you make in a normal month.
Start by measuring the widest cut you actually make in a normal month, then match the saw to that number rather than the biggest spec sheet you can find. For most mechanics ripping shelving, workbench tops or fixture stock, the DWE7491RS is the default because its 32-1/2 in of rip and rolling stand cover the awkward cuts most shops try to work around with a circular saw. If your saw genuinely travels every night, or if you already own 18V ONE+ batteries, the SKIL and the RYOBI both change that math. Buy the fence first, the stand second, and the badge on the side last.
Last updated: September 26, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.