Best Portable Table Saw for a One-Van Crew
Seven jobsite saws lined up by published weight, rip capacity and warranty length, with a named winner and the exact conditions that flip the pick to something heavier.
The best portable table saw for contractors is the SKIL TS6307-00, because at 51.2 lb it's the lightest saw in this group of seven by a margin of more than 25 lb, and it still carries a 3 Year Limited Warranty. If you rip wide shelving stock all day, the DEWALT DWE7491RS and its 32-1/2 in rip capacity is the better buy, and its 110 lb weight is the price you pay for that. The seven saws here split into three clear tiers, and the tier you need depends less on cutting power than on who lifts the thing.
Best portable table saw for contractors at a glance
| Pick | Weight | Rip capacity | Price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall SKIL 15 Amp 10-Inch Jobsite Table Saw with Folding Stand |
51.2 lb | 4x4 at 90° claim | Check Price |
| Best for families DEWALT Table Saw 10 Inch with Foldable Rolling Stand |
110 lb | 32-1/2 in claim | Check Price |
| Most versatile Delta 36-6023 10 Inch Table Saw |
77 lb | 32.5 in claim | Check Price |
| Best for pros BOSCH GTS15-10 Portable Jobsite Table Saw |
103 lb | Not stated | Check Price |
| Best upgrade SKILSAW SPT99-11 Worm Drive Table Saw |
94.3 lb | 30-1/2 in claim | Check Price |
| Best minimal setup SawStop CTS-120A60 Compact Table Saw |
79 lb | Not stated | Check Price |
| Best premium SawStop Jobsite Saw PRO with Mobile Cart |
113 lb | 25-1/2 in claim | Check Price |
How I screened these seven jobsite saws
I lined up the published specifications for all seven side by side and sorted them by the numbers a contractor actually feels: weight, rip capacity, warranty length, and folded footprint. Everything else came second.
Three things fell out of that comparison fast.
- Weight spans 61.8 lb across the set. The lightest is 51.2 lb, the heaviest 113 lb. That's the difference between a one-person carry and a two-person carry, and no other specification changes the day this much.
- Warranty coverage is wildly uneven. Delta publishes a 5 Year Professional Warranty. SKIL and DEWALT publish three years each. Bosch and SKILSAW publish one. Neither SawStop listing publishes a warranty term at all.
- Rip capacity clusters, then breaks. Three saws land between 30-1/2 in and 32.5 in. The SawStop PRO states 25-1/2 in. Two listings don't state rip capacity.
Every saw here runs a 15 amp motor, so amperage tells you nothing about which one to buy. Every saw here also uses a rack and pinion fence, or claims to. That's the state of the category now, which means the differentiators sit elsewhere.
Two picks come from a Power Tools > Saws listing rather than Saws > Table Saws, and both are SawStop. That's worth knowing only because it explains why their specification sheets read differently from the rest.
Why weight decides the best portable table saw for contractors
Most guides to the best portable table saw for contractors compare motors. All seven of these run 15 amps. The comparison ends before it starts.
The real deciding criterion is how many times per week the saw gets lifted, and by how many people. A 113 lb saw on a mobile cart rolls fine across a finished slab. It fights you at a tailgate, on a stair landing, and on wet dirt. A 51.2 lb saw with folding legs goes wherever you go.
Here's the trick with jobsite saws: the folded footprint matters as much as the mass. The SKIL TS6307-00 folds its legs in. The SawStop PRO publishes stowed dimensions of 26-1/2 in long by 29 in wide by 45 in high, which tells you it stands upright rather than lying flat. Upright storage eats van height. Flat storage eats van floor. Measure the van before you measure the saw.
Most shoppers miss the second-order cost. A heavy saw with big wheels is a genuinely better cutting platform because mass kills vibration. You just have to actually be able to get it to the cut. If the answer is "sometimes yes, sometimes no", the heavy saw sits in the van and you rough-cut with a circular saw instead. That's how a good tool becomes a dead tool.
1. SKIL 15 Amp 10-Inch Jobsite Table Saw with Folding Stand — Best overall
At 51.2 lb it's the only saw here a single person moves without thinking about it, and a 3 Year Limited Warranty behind an entry price is rare in this set.

Best for: a solo trim carpenter loading and unloading alone every day Skip it if: you rip full sheets of plywood weekly
Nothing else here comes close on weight. At 51.2 lb the TS6307-00 undercuts the next-lightest saw, the 77 lb Delta, by 25.8 lb, and it undercuts the heaviest in this group by 61.8 lb. That single number is why it wins. SKIL describes an integrated folding stand whose legs fold in for portability and storage, which is a different arrangement from the wheeled carts on the heavier picks and a better one for a van with no ramp.
The specification list covers the fundamentals. SKIL claims 4x4 cutting capacity at 90 degrees and a 2-47° bevel range with positive stops at 0 and 45 degrees on a quick-release lever. The listing also describes rack and pinion fence rails to keep the fence parallel, plus a micro-adjustment for squaring the blade to the fence and miter slot. That last item is the one that separates a saw you can trust for finish work from one you fight.
It's also the one buyers choose most often here, by a wide gap over the rest of the set, and the cheapest of the seven.
The trade-off is honest: no published rip capacity figure, and the lightest saw in a set is rarely the most stable under a heavy sheet.
Pros:
- Lightest in the set at 51.2 lb
- 3 Year Limited Warranty at the lowest price position
- Folding legs instead of a bulky cart
- Blade-to-fence micro-adjustment claimed
- The saw buyers here choose most often
Cons:
- No rip capacity figure published
- Lightest mass means least vibration damping
- Folding stand has no wheels for rough ground
- Only one seller lists it
2. DEWALT Table Saw 10 Inch with Foldable Rolling Stand — Best for families
A stated 32-1/2 in rip capacity, tied for the widest here, with the onboard storage that stops accessories walking off site.

Best for: a two-person crew that rips wide shelving and trim stock Skip it if: you carry the saw up stairs by yourself
The DWE7491RS is the sheet-goods answer in this lineup. DEWALT states 32-1/2 in of rip capacity, which is enough to break down wide shelving in one pass rather than two, and the telescoping rails retract to shrink the package for transport. The listing also quotes 4800 RPM, the highest published spindle speed of the seven.
The onboard storage system is the underrated feature. DEWALT lists dedicated homes for the blade guard assembly, fence, riving knife, miter gauge, wrenches, push stick and cord wrap. On a jobsite, a riving knife with nowhere to live is a riving knife that ends up in a scrap pile, and then the guard never goes back on.
At 110 lb it's the second-heaviest saw here. The rolling stand is designed for setup and breakdown, DEWALT says, but weight is weight. This is a saw two people load, or one person loads off a ramp. The 3 year limited manufacturer warranty matches the SKIL and beats Bosch and SKILSAW.
Against the SKIL, you're paying more than double the weight for 32-1/2 in of rip. That's a good trade if you cut sheets and a bad one if you cut base and casing.
Pros:
- 32-1/2 in rip capacity, tied widest here
- 4800 RPM, the highest published figure in the set
- Onboard storage for guard, knife and gauge
- 3 year limited manufacturer warranty
- Rolling stand with retracting rails
Cons:
- 110 lb makes it a two-person lift
- Second-heaviest saw in this group
- Sells far slower than the SKIL here
- Only one seller lists it
3. Delta 36-6023 10 Inch Table Saw — Most versatile
A 5 Year Professional Warranty, the longest published term of any pick here, plus stated stacked dado capacity that no other listing mentions.

Best for: shops running stacked dado sets on treated lumber Skip it if: you need a rolling stand out of the box
The Delta 36-6023 does two things nothing else here does. It publishes a 5 Year Professional Warranty, two years longer than the SKIL or DEWALT and five times the Bosch or SKILSAW term. And it states a 13/16 in by 8 in stacked dado capacity, which matters if you cut dados and rabbets rather than just crosscuts and rips. That's a shop-saw specification on a saw priced second-cheapest in this set.
Rip capacity is listed at 32.5 in, effectively level with the DEWALT. Delta calls the motor a 15 Amp Contractor Grade unit and says it handles treated lumber and hardwoods. Rack and pinion fence rails are claimed here too, so the fence mechanism is comparable across the top three.
Weight is 77 lb, and the listed dimensions of 35 x 27 x 19 in are the second-largest footprint here. That's the awkward middle: heavier than a one-hand carry, without the big-wheeled cart the SKILSAW brings.
It's also the slowest seller among the entry-priced saws by a wide margin, which is worth noting when you're judging how easy parts and answers will be to find.
Pros:
- 5 Year Professional Warranty, longest here
- 32.5 in rip capacity
- Only listing to state stacked dado capacity
- Second-cheapest of the seven
- Rack and pinion fence rails claimed
Cons:
- No wheeled stand described in the listing
- 77 lb with a large 35 x 27 x 19 in footprint
- Slowest seller of the entry-priced picks
- No bevel range published
4. BOSCH GTS15-10 10 Inch Portable Jobsite Table Saw — Best for pros
Soft-start circuitry and a roughly three-second blade brake, the only saw here with both stated.

Best for: crews working off long extension cords and shared breakers Skip it if: you want more than a one-year warranty
The GTS15-10 is the electrical-behaviour pick. Bosch says the soft-start circuitry manages motor start-up intensity to reduce the chance of tripping a breaker, and if you've ever killed a temporary panel by starting a saw and a compressor together, you know why that line matters. Bosch also states the brake stops the blade in approximately three seconds. No other listing here mentions a brake at all.
Stated spindle speed is 3,800 rpm for rip and crosscutting. The fence uses colour-coded index pins matched to a colour-coded scale, which is a small, practical detail for anyone setting a repeat rip in poor light. The Smart Guard System is described as a riving knife plus anti-kickback pawls with a guard assembly barrier.
At 103 lb it's the third-heaviest saw here, on a wheeled Rise stand. The listed carton dimensions of 13.5 x 28.1 x 27.8 in are the most compact of the heavy picks.
The weakness is coverage. A 1 Year Limited Warranty against Delta's five years is a real gap on a tool that lives in a truck bed, and no rip capacity figure is published for direct comparison.
Pros:
- Soft-start circuitry to protect shared circuits
- Blade brake stated at roughly three seconds
- Colour-coded fence index pins and scale
- Riving knife and anti-kickback pawls described
- Most compact listed dimensions of the heavy picks
Cons:
- Only a 1 Year Limited Warranty
- No rip capacity figure published
- 103 lb makes it a two-person lift
- Mid-priced without the longest warranty or widest rip
5. SKILSAW SKIL 10 Inch Heavy Duty Worm Drive Table Saw — Best upgrade
Worm drive gearing with a stated 3-5/8 in depth of cut, the deepest published figure in this set, on 16 in wheels.

Best for: framers pushing thick stock across rough ground Skip it if: you need the longest rip capacity in the set
The SPT99-11 is the outlier, and deliberately so. SKILSAW describes worm drive gearing rather than the direct or belt drive arrangements implied elsewhere, with a stated 3-5/8 in depth of cut and 30-1/2 in rip capacity. That depth figure is the largest published here and it's what lets you take thick material in one pass instead of flipping stock.
The stand is the other reason to want it. SKILSAW specifies 16 in wheels with easy-load handles, and 16 in is a lot of wheel: it's the difference between rolling over a threshold and lifting over it. On a framing site with rubble and mud, that number does real work. The listing also describes outfeed and left-side supports so one person can handle larger cuts, plus a dust port elbow that funnels debris to one spot.
Weight is 94.3 lb, and the listed dimensions of 35.1 x 52.6 x 29.5 in make it the physically largest saw here by some distance.
Two honest marks against it. The 1 Year Limited warranty is the shortest tier in this group, and its 30-1/2 in rip capacity is the narrowest of the three saws that publish a figure over 25 in. You're buying depth and mobility, not width.
Pros:
- 3-5/8 in depth of cut, deepest published here
- 16 in wheels with easy-load handles
- Outfeed and left support for one-person cuts
- Dust port elbow consolidates debris
- Worm drive gearing, unique in this set
Cons:
- 1 Year Limited warranty
- Largest listed footprint of all seven
- 30-1/2 in rip trails the DEWALT and Delta
- Second-highest price position for a one-year term
6. SawStop CTS-120A60 Compact Table Saw — Best minimal setup
Flesh-detecting blade stop technology at 79 lb, the lightest of the two SawStop options by 34 lb.

Best for: a benchtop-only setup where flesh-detection matters most Skip it if: you need a wheeled stand included
The CTS-120A60 exists for one reason. SawStop states its patented safety system stops the blade on contact with skin, and this is the lightest way into that technology in this lineup at 79 lb. Compare that with the 113 lb PRO and you've saved 34 lb for the same core claim.
The listed dimensions of 14.1 x 27 x 23.5 in are compact by the standards of this group, second only to the SKIL in overall bulk. SawStop describes a rack and pinion fence that's easy to adjust or remove and always square, with built-in high and low shelves to support different cut types. The Quick Tilt feature is described as fast blade angle changes with a micro tilt-adjust for fine-tuning, which is the same idea as the SKIL's micro-adjustment applied to bevels rather than fence parallelism.
The listing calls out heavy-duty construction for jobsite stability, but note what's absent: no stand or cart is described, unlike the PRO's mobile cart assembly.
The gaps are real. No warranty term is published, no rip capacity figure is given, and it sits in the second-highest price position of all seven. You're paying for the safety system and accepting a thinner specification sheet.
Pros:
- Flesh-detection safety system at the lowest weight here for that feature
- 79 lb, 34 lb lighter than the PRO
- Compact 14.1 x 27 x 23.5 in listed dimensions
- Removable, always-square rack and pinion fence claimed
- Quick Tilt with micro tilt-adjust
Cons:
- No warranty term published
- No rip capacity figure published
- No stand or cart described in the listing
- Second-highest price position of the seven
7. SawStop Jobsite Saw PRO with Mobile Cart Assembly — Best premium
A 24-5/8 in table depth with active dust collection in the blade guard, on the only mobile cart assembly named as part of the package.

Best for: a crew that has already had one close call Skip it if: rip capacity above 25-1/2 in is non-negotiable
The Jobsite Saw PRO is the most expensive pick here and the heaviest at 113 lb. What it buys is table area and dust control on top of the flesh-detection system. SawStop states a 24-5/8 in table depth and calls it class-leading, and table depth is the specification nobody shops for and everybody feels: more depth means more stock supported before and after the blade, which means straighter cuts and less wandering.
The Hi-Low T-style fence with Ergolock is described as sliding easily and locking with a push, at 25-1/2 in of rip capacity. One Turn Elevation raises and lowers the blade in a single handwheel turn. The blade guard is described as an active dust collection unit that captures above-table dust, which is the only above-table extraction claim in this set.
Stowed dimensions are published as 26-1/2 in long by 29 in wide by 45 in high. That's a tall, narrow park, so check your van roof.
Two clear losses. That 25-1/2 in rip capacity is 7 in short of the DEWALT and Delta, so wide sheet work needs a second pass. And like the CTS, no warranty term appears in the listing, which is a strange omission at the top of the price range.
Pros:
- 24-5/8 in table depth, deepest stated here
- Active dust collection blade guard, unique in this set
- Flesh-detection safety system
- One-turn blade elevation
- Mobile cart assembly included in the package
Cons:
- 25-1/2 in rip capacity, narrowest published figure here
- 113 lb, the heaviest of all seven
- No warranty term published
- Highest price position with the least rip capacity
What does more money actually buy in a jobsite saw?
Across these seven, extra spend does not buy rip capacity. It buys safety systems, wheels, and table area. That's counterintuitive and worth sitting with.
- Entry positions cover the SKIL, Delta and DEWALT. This is where the widest rip capacities live: 32-1/2 in and 32.5 in. It's also where the longest warranties live, at three, three and five years.
- The middle is the Bosch alone, and what it adds is electrical manners. Soft-start and a roughly three-second brake are genuine jobsite features. The warranty drops to one year.
- The premium tier is the SKILSAW and both SawStops. Here you get worm drive gearing and 16 in wheels, or flesh-detection and a 24-5/8 in table depth. Warranty terms are one year or unpublished, and the widest rip capacity in the tier is 30-1/2 in.
So the honest summary of the best portable table saw for contractors at the top of the range: you spend more to protect your hands or to move a heavier saw more easily, not to cut wider boards.
That reframes the decision. If wide rips are the daily task, spending more actively works against you here. If the risk of blade contact keeps you up at night, the premium tier is the only place to look and rip capacity is what you sacrifice.
Rip capacity: how much do you really need?
Rip capacity is the distance from the blade to the fence at full extension. It sets the widest board you can rip in one pass, and it's the number most people over-buy.
Here's the practical cutoff. If you rarely cut anything wider than a 24 in cabinet side, the 25-1/2 in figure on the SawStop PRO covers you. If you break down 4-foot-wide sheet goods and want the cut in one pass with the offcut falling free, you need the 32-1/2 in or 32.5 in figures from the DEWALT and Delta.
- Under 24 in wide stock: any saw here that publishes a figure works
- 24 in to 30 in: the SKILSAW SPT99-11 at 30-1/2 in handles it
- Over 30 in: DEWALT or Delta, and nothing else here published a wider number
Two listings, the Bosch and the SawStop CTS, don't publish a rip capacity figure at all. That's not a defect, but it does mean you can't verify the number before it arrives, and I'd want to know it before committing if wide rips are the job.
Depth of cut is the specification that pairs with it. Only SKILSAW publishes one, at 3-5/8 in, and SKIL claims 4x4 capability at 90 degrees. If thick stock is your work rather than wide stock, those two are the picks that state what they'll do.
What the listings don't tell you about warranty and support
Warranty length is the cleanest signal in this whole comparison because it's a promise, not a claim. Five of the seven publish a term. Two don't.
Ranked longest to shortest: Delta at 5 Year Professional Warranty, then SKIL and DEWALT at three years each, then Bosch and SKILSAW at one year. Both SawStop listings are silent on the subject.
Silence isn't the same as no coverage, and I won't pretend it is. It does mean you'd want to confirm the term directly before buying a premium saw on the strength of it. That's a phone call, not a guess, and it's the kind of thing worth doing before the box arrives rather than after.
One more structural note. Every one of these seven has just a single seller on the listing. That's normal for large power tools and it means no third-party price competition on the page, so the Check Price link is the only way to see where each one currently sits.
The other blank is the fence scale on most listings. Rack and pinion is claimed nearly universally here, but only Bosch describes how you read it, with colour-coded pins matched to a colour-coded scale. Small thing on a spec sheet. Daily thing on a jobsite.
SKIL TS6307-00 vs DEWALT DWE7491RS: which one goes in the van?
These two are the head-to-head that matters most for anyone shopping the best portable table saw for contractors on an entry budget. Both publish a 3 year warranty. Both use rack and pinion fence rails. Both are among the three cheapest here. The difference is a straight trade.
The SKIL weighs 51.2 lb and folds its legs. The DEWALT weighs 110 lb, rolls on a stand, and states 32-1/2 in of rip capacity plus 4800 RPM. That's 58.8 lb of extra weight for a stated rip capacity the SKIL doesn't publish.
If you work alone and set up in three different places a day, the SKIL is the answer and it isn't close. Sixty pounds of extra mass, lifted six times a day, is a back injury waiting for a bad step.
If a second person is always on site, or the saw sets up once in the morning and stays put, the DEWALT's rip capacity, onboard accessory storage and higher spindle speed are worth having. The rolling stand does most of the moving for you across a flat slab.
Split the difference and you get the Delta at 77 lb with 32.5 in of rip and a five-year warranty, minus the wheeled stand. That's the compromise pick if neither extreme fits.
The verdict
If you work alone, the SKIL TS6307-00 is the best portable table saw for contractors in this group. At 51.2 lb it's 25.8 lb lighter than the next-lightest saw, it folds flat, and it comes with a 3 Year Limited Warranty at the lowest price position of the seven. Nothing else here combines those three facts, and it's the saw buyers in this set choose most often by a wide margin.
If you always have a second set of hands, the DEWALT DWE7491RS is the pick. Its stated 32-1/2 in rip capacity and 4800 RPM handle wide shelving in single passes, and the onboard storage for the guard, riving knife and miter gauge keeps the safety kit attached to the tool rather than scattered across the site.
The cutoff is one person versus two. Under about 80 lb, one person moves a saw repeatedly without dreading it. Above 100 lb, that stops being true no matter how good the wheels are.
Two conditions flip it elsewhere. If you cut dados regularly, the Delta 36-6023 is the only listing stating stacked dado capacity, at 13/16 in by 8 in, and its 5 Year Professional Warranty is the longest here. And if blade contact is the risk you're actually managing, the SawStop CTS-120A60 delivers flesh-detection at 79 lb, though you accept 25-1/2 in of rip on its PRO sibling and an unpublished warranty term on both.
FAQ
Is a portable table saw worth it over a good circular saw?
A portable table saw is worth it the moment you need repeatable rips. A circular saw with a straightedge cuts one board accurately. A table saw with a rack and pinion fence cuts fifty identically, which is what trim, cabinet and deck work demands. The SKIL TS6307-00 at 51.2 lb costs you little in van space to gain that repeatability.
Which is the best portable table saw for contractors on a tight budget?
The best portable table saw for contractors on a tight budget is the SKIL TS6307-00. It's the cheapest of these seven, carries a 3 Year Limited Warranty, and its 51.2 lb weight means no ramp and no helper. Delta's 36-6023 is second-cheapest and adds a 5 Year Professional Warranty plus 32.5 in of rip if you can handle 77 lb.
How much rip capacity do I need for sheet goods?
For sheet goods you need rip capacity above 30 in to break down 4-foot panels comfortably in one pass. The DEWALT DWE7491RS states 32-1/2 in and the Delta 36-6023 states 32.5 in, the two widest figures here. The SawStop Jobsite Saw PRO states 25-1/2 in, which means a second pass or a track saw for wide panels.
SKILSAW SPT99-11 or Bosch GTS15-10 for framing work?
Choose between the SPT99-11 and the GTS15-10 on ground conditions. SKILSAW publishes 16 in wheels and a 3-5/8 in depth of cut, which suits rough sites and thick stock. Bosch publishes soft-start circuitry and a roughly three-second blade brake, better for shared temporary power. Both carry only a 1 Year Limited Warranty, so the warranty won't decide it.
What's the biggest mistake buyers make with jobsite table saws?
The biggest mistake buyers make is treating weight as a proxy for quality and buying the heaviest saw they can afford. Weight here spans 51.2 lb to 113 lb. A saw too heavy to move gets left in the van, and an unused saw cuts nothing. Match the mass to how many people actually lift it.
Start with the honest question, not the spec sheet: how many times a week does this saw get lifted, and by how many people? Answer that and the seven-way choice collapses to two or three. For most one-van operators the SKIL TS6307-00 is the right default, not because it out-specs the field but because 51.2 lb and folding legs mean it actually gets used on every job rather than the easy ones. Everything else here is a specific answer to a specific constraint: wide sheets, thick stock, rough ground, or blade contact.
Last updated: September 25, 2026. Product availability re-checked.
This page contains affiliate links. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you.